Soooooooo since my last post (yesterday) I have decided that it is time for a visit to Bates…a summer vacation vacation. Luckily for me I have friends who are working at Bates for the summer, either beginning research for their senior theses, playing with lab rats and such; or friends who have just graduated and have recently become fully employed by Bates. Some people just can’t stay away from Bates even for the summer, or after they graduate. Even more luckily for me, my friend Tess, who just graduated, and my friend Colleen, who will be my roommate next year were also really excited about visiting and will join me for the ride up.

One of the best parts about going up to school, in my opinion, is the drive. Although the car ride is very long from where I live in New York, I would not travel any other way to school. I tried flying once and it was just not the same. My car missed me too much. There are also so many places to stop in New England on the way up to Maine that you would be missing out if you did not drive. It is especially convenient to get in some shopping time at my favorite J.Crew outlet in Freeport, which offers student discounts by the way. Your pit stop in Freeport will ensure that you have everything that you need to enjoy your vacation at Bates, in case you forgot a bathing suit for your trip to Range Pond, or a light sweater for the chilly evenings and mornings. If you are like me, you will probably leave Freeport full from lobster rolls and clam chowda and will not want to be in a bathing suit ever again!

Although I have not yet set a date for my summer vacation vacation up to Bates, I can assure you there will be pictures when I finally get it together and get to Maine!