Hey everyone! Welcome to my first blog post ever! I am very new to writing a blog, but  I love to write, and I REALLY love to talk, so hopefully this won’t be too difficult!

As most of you know (I hope) it is still technically the winter, and I am sure that all of you have heard about how brutal the weather is here at Bates during the long winter months. However, from my experience of being at Bates there are sporadic days at the beginning of March when the weather is much warmer than usual. I’m talking like 55, 60 degrees! When it’s this warm everyone at Bates knows that it’s time to put away the boots and take out the shorts! But then again, it really isn’t that strange to see people wearing shorts when it hits 40! Going to Bates enables your body to adjust to freakishly cold (at times) temperatures so that what might have once seemed cold, now feels like summer. So today was one of those summery days and it was amazing. Everyone on campus was in a good mood, there were pictures and tweets and facebook posts about how amazing the weather was. It felt like Short Term was within reach. However, it also made it difficult to go to class.

I guess for you to understand how exciting it was that Short Term felt so close I should probably explain what that is. Short Term is a period of four weeks that happens after April break where students only take one class. To make matters better, many of these classes are really unique and really fun. For example, I have a few friends who have taken a short term class called “For the Love of Dogs,” which was an English class with a service learning component where one of my friends volunteered at a kennel for 6 hours a week. “What’s not to love?!” my friend, Val just said. What makes matters even better (if that’s possible) is that during Short Term everyone spends most of their free time outside with their friends. It gives us hardworking students ample opportunity to participate in Intramural Sports teams, to go on an adventure to Range Pond and play in the sun, and to do so many other things!

Anyway, now that it seems that spring is upon us, it is a great time to come and visit Maine. Not that the winter isn’t gorgeous too. Nothing is prettier than walking across the quad as a blanket of snow is falling upon the Bates campus, like the one that is in this picture that I took just two nights ago!

Snowy Quad